The Last Fresh Meat Session

So before I jump into last night’s session, I should probably mention that I have stopped running in the couch to 5k program. Running on pavement was destroying my knees and since I only started running to help my endurance for roller derby in the first place, it seems completely counterproductive to engage in an activity that is making it hard for me to endure roller derby. The doctor said something akin to “your kneecaps are too wiggly, stop running and go to physio” and I think since my new love is on the line I will listen (for once). That said, my endurance is getting better just from going to roller derby, and I think maybe I might start using the eliptical machine at school to see if that is easier on my knees.

Okay, so enough of that… what you really want to know is how the last fresh meat session went.

Well first of all, my butt is really sore today. But thankfully, this time it’s not from falling on it!! I’m slowly getting steadier on my feet, and learning to fall forwards.

We started out with our usual laps, lunges and stretches. Then we went over some of the basic stops and falls from the last sessions. With my knees a little sore last night I admittedly didn’t have as much power in my stops as I had before but I managed just fine. For the falls, I skipped doing the right knee falls and just did the left and double knee falls. I’m actually very good at falling 😉

We spent a lot of  time trying to do crossovers last night. Basically this consists of lifting one leg and crossing it over the other in order to turn. It’s a bit tricky so we tried doing it in baby steps. Here’s the funny part… I find the baby steps even harder than just full out trying to do the whole thing. We first tried skating around the track just lifting one foot up… impossible. My legs think my feet are too heavy and refuse. Then since quite a few of us were apparently having a hard time with this, we tried the same thing only skating straight across the gym instead of going around the track. I actually did a bit better with this – but I had a really hard time getting my left foot of the ground. Also, my right foot will only stay off the ground for a very short period of time. Anyways, after this we got to try it on the  track… I managed to do a couple of proper cross overs but for the most part I’m still only getting my foot about half way over the other. I think this one is only a matter of time – it “feels” pretty right, just needs some practice.

So after all this skating I was pretty exhausted and then it was announced that we would be doing the pyramid drills… oh mama, save my wobbly legs!!! This time I tried to make sure that I was in a lineup of girls that seemed about the same skill level as me (last time, everyone around me was sooooo quick!!!!!) I don’t think doing laps at the end of practice really is representative of my skating overall (or at least I hope not) because by then my legs have the jiggles and would rather be walking to the bus stop. In any case, I’m not nearly as fast as I would like to be, but I’m getting much more confidant on my skates and for the moment I think that’s what really counts.

Did I mention that these sessions are two hours long??? My body already has fewer wobbly bits than it did a few weeks ago… I’m feeling pretty good 🙂

So skating in the living room for this week is going to consist mostly of trying to skate on one foot… I need to build the strength and balance to be able to do this. I’ve been doing some strength training on the wii fit for this specific purpose, but it’s nothing compared to balancing on one leg while wearing skates!

Ohh…. before I forget. This is what I came home to after my session. If you’re a roller derby husband, you’re going to want to take notes on this; this is truly what a roller girl wants to come home to after a hard session!

Steak, mashed potatos, beer and some green stuff….. sooooo good 🙂

3 Comments

  1. I’ve never been able to do crossovers on skates, some people make it look so easy but I’m with you when you say it’s really hard! Although it’s not much coming from me, seeing as how I can’t stop on skates either.

  2. You’re amazing, Tammy! You mean there’s actually some fun to falling?!!! Or better still there is a right and wrong way to ‘fall’ in all of this. I’m completely ‘hooked’ but only as the reader of all of this. And you’re doing this for a full 2-hours. Some people would call that masochistic! LOL! Great food to come home to! Jon must really be into seeing you succeed! Bravo. And so am I. Perhaps one day I can come along to cheer you on! 🙂 Bonne continuation.

  3. I am loving your blog girl!!! Happy you’re having so much fun at roller derby too. So, where can I get me a steak and beer-serving hubby? and please don’t tell me I have to start roller-derbying, cause that’ll never happen. lol 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

