More money for spandex

Practice last night went pretty… awesome.

First off, we’ve started at a new-to-me, polished concrete arena. Before testing it out, we did some off-skate stuff. During the warm-up, someone  realized that we could play music in there and ran up to throw on a cd. The first song… The Clash, London Calling. Put me right into my sweet spot.

After laps and lunges (maybe I’ll stop mentioning these… they’re going to happen every time) we did a pretty intense off-skate session with mirror drills. Then we laced up and took a couple of warm up laps around the track. The concrete makes such a difference! When I first stepped out onto the track I was a bit wobbly… the concrete is way more slippery than the gym. After skating a few times around the track though I realized the awesomeness of concrete – you can move so much faster with way less leg effort.  Going around the curves is so easy and sweet… you can crouch right down, touching the floor and still make it around the entire bend. Next, we practiced our stops – quite a different experience on the concrete. My t-stops need work –  I admit it. We did suicide drills… skate up to line 1, fall… skate back to the beginning.. skate to line 2, fall, skate back to the beginning, skate to line 3, fall, skate back to the beginning, skate to line 4, fall, skate back to the beginning. Then we did the same thing all over again this time stopping at the lines rather than falling. It was a pretty big night for endurance building, and I’m so proud that we all made it through.

Then we did a new drill… basically we skate around the track and ever so often we “skip” or “jump” over a line…. Umm..since this involves lifting the feet off the ground I’m really not good at this, but I managed to start skipping after a while. After this, we did another really neat drill where you pair up and one person skates in front while the other follows closely behind waving random digits in the air. The goal of course if for the lead skater to look behind themself and call out the number of fingers the follower is throwing in the air. I didn’t mind this too much, except that my balance was seriously compromised when I would go from looking behind to looking forward. And then it happend.

I WIPED OUT!!!

Seriously people, I thought my elbow was broken (the same one that I’d broken before). That familiar feeling of all the blood in my body rushing to the injured limb made the rest of the gym fade into oblivion. Swearing ensued. After getting up and brushing off, I took a few laps around the gym to “skate it off” and then thankfully I realized I wasn’t broken, just a bit bruised. Now I don’t want to end up being that person that gets hurt all the time… first my sore knee (which is so much better now), and now complaining about my elbow…. but what can I say, I’m a bit accident prone I guess. Whatever, at least I get up!

So, I finished the drill. We then did walking cross overs across the gym on skates. I have a really hard time “walking” on my skates, despite getting a lot better at “real” crossovers while in motion. So for this I’m going to start wearing skates more in the house and walking in them instead of skating in them. Hopefully it will help.

Last but not least… the train of pain. The leader steers while the middle-woman pushes the front person and pulls the back person (sometimes its more than 1 person in front and behind to push-pull.. but this time we were let off easy ;)). Okay, so I started off as leader and I was supposed to steer… but I wasn’t properly balanced and… I CRASHED MY TRAIN!!!!! It’s okay, no one was hurt. Then I practiced this drill with a seasoned pro for a while on the outside of the track and really got it down…. so no more problemo.

So after practice I went and caught the bus.. it took me almost 2 hours to get home… ugh that sucks. I saw a funny ad for Koodo…. it had a cartoon of a wrestler and said something along the lines of “our $0 phones leave more money for spandex”…. I was  like, yeah I can totally relate! I also happen to have one of their phones lol.

So we’re back to ice on ice off for the elbow, but I’m completely stoked for the next practice.

1 Comment

  1. Suicide drills…. falling, banging your elbow and you still want to go back?! Geez Tammy am I ever in awe of your perseverence!!!! All of this sounds just SO scary, and you’re enjoying it all! Good for you. xx


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

