New wheels for a roller derby girl

It’s official, half set blue half set purple Fugitive mids are on the way; I will look like a bruise on wheels; awesome.

I tried watching Hell on Wheels again last night (I watched it for the first time much earlier in my derby journey), and you know what? I hated it. Why? I mean, I loved it the first time right? Well, the truth is… there’s not a whole lot of skating in it, and the skating there is ***shhh*** isn’t that great. Who could blame them? They were the pioneers! But I guess it goes to show where my priorities have shifted. Oh and btw, I still watch Whip-It all the time… but I skip through all the talking and just watch the skating parts now 🙂

Okay so because this was a short one, I feel obliged to leave you with something worth having visited for… how about this fun music video?

7 Comments

  1. Yay for wheels! Good choice. The yellows are for heftier peeps, like Rowdy. You’re going to love having new wheels!

  2. Aww, I’m so sad that you didn’t like Hell on Wheels on rewatching! It gets better for me every time. Bob Ray reads my blog from time to time and I met him in person and practically peed on his feet because I was so excited to meet the man behind the movie. I think it’s a little different for me because I’m from Texas and was a derby fan from the very early days before the split in the leagues, and it was all very raucous and fun, but also confusing, so to see what the hell was going on, and to learn about the women who were my heroes is totally exhilarating.

    For me, that movie is less about the skating than the sport itself, and about the emotional journey that it took to create it. It’s about the women behind the revolution. The fact that the skating was so terrible is actually a huge inspiration to me, because lots of skaters that people really loved, like Sparkle Plenty and Bettie Rage, literally didn’t know how to skate, and they built this thing out of nothing.

    I know a lot of people who see it expecting it to be a serious instructional video with lots of game clips and whatnot, and I hate to think how sorely they must be disappointed. It’s impossible for it to be a serious skate movie because there was no such thing as ‘serious’ skating then — WFTDA and all that really came after the movie was done filming. The transformation from “we’re going to have fake hits and fake story lines” to “we are going to be real athletes” is the part that’s amazing.

    Can you tell that I could talk about this movie all day? I’m such a dork 🙂

    • Heya RW; I totally agree with what the movie is supposed to be about, and I think for me I just needed one watching to absorb it all. For some reason I just remembered it having more skating in it.. but it had been quite a few months. HOWheels is definitely a classic, and a must see for anyone getting into the sport and wanting to know the history… just wasn’t what I was in the mood for that night 🙂

  3. I loved HOWheels, but I loved it because it was nice to see that those girls sucked once too. I also was fascinated to see how the very first league-splitting drama went down, having just been sideswiped with a league schism where I live placing me in a very strange position with several of my friends on each side of the rift.
    I am completely loving reading your blog as it rings true with a lot of my own derby experience. Thanks for sharing. =)

    • The league I’m skating with right now is also a recent split off of another league in my city, so I can definitely relate! I think derby attracts a lot of strong personalities, and this probably contributes to the drama 🙂

  4. It was painful for me to watch HOWheels a couple of months ago. I joined a league an hour away from my town, and a couple of weeks later helped a friend start our own local league. I’d never realized just how addicted to drama she was, so I dropped out of our brand new league two months in because I couldn’t back her philosophy. I am so lucky that the original league is composed of a wonderful group of girls, with NO DRAMA! At least for now ^_^


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

