M is for Mutiny

I couldn’t think of an appropriate title for today’s post.

I started the Roller Derby Workout Challenge yesterday and already I’m feeling pretty grouchy…

After a huge breakfast fail (white flour and sweetened coffee), I managed some good choices for lunch and supper. I was kind of unprepared to follow the meal plan perfectly, but I was able to come pretty close. This morning I did manage to follow their breakfast plan, but I couldn’t eat everything on the list… it’s just too much food for me first thing in the morning. Not to mention, I’m suddenly having to cook for myself in the morning…. ugh.

As far as the exercise plan goes: my workout DVD didn’t arrive on time so I did the alternate workout yesterday evening.  I read the plan through first to get an idea of how it was going to go down: 20 squats, 60 second plank, 20 left leg lunges, 20 right leg lunges, 60 second plank, 20 pushups, 30 second plank. OMG that looks exhausting right? Next read: REPEAT 5 TIMES!! Holy French. Well I know my 5 times tables pretty well and yeah that’s like 100 squats 750 seconds of plank 100 lunges on each leg and 100 pushups. Um, I couldn’t make it through the first repeat but I did try my hardest. I managed about 70 squats too, so I’m hurting today.

My strategy for the routine was basically to do as much as I could during each  repeat but try really hard to do 5 repeats. I think I’m going to switch it up for next time and try to make it all the way through 1 repeat and increase the repeats from there. Now so you don’t think I’m in total lack of shape I think it’s fair to remind you that 1) because of the elbow injuries I’ve incurred my physiotherapist recommended NOT doing pushups for now… so I only did a few of them and then did about 3 repeats of 10 wall pushups for each arm instead. 2) The 60 plank is an exercise that I’ve been working *towards* in physio and is often something I use as a substitute for pushups. Right now I can do about a three repeats of a 30 second plank  but after that it’s 10 seconds before I fall flat on my wobbly bits.

Anyways, even though the exercise plan is a little advanced for me so far, at least I’m sure that I’m still pushing my body…. stairs hurt today!

5 Comments

  1. Woohoo! You can do it!!!
    That routine looks like a good thing to try at the gym the three days I don’t skate.
    And I’m the same with food first thing in the morning. I don’t know how much is on your list, but try having something small (toast and peanut butter?), wait half an hour, eat another piece of it (eggs?), wait an hour… and so on. Whenever I was on a structured diet, it would take me several hours to get through breakfast, and most of it was during my commute or my morning email clearing routine. And again, good luck!!!

    • I think I’m going to have to do that… this morning I *kind* of did that.. I brought the fruit with me for the bus! Thanks for writing 😀

  2. YOU’RE DOING AWESOME!

    Ha, I feel like they should pay me royalties for being such a huge cheerleader for the challenge. To me, yesterday was a huge amount of food in the morning, today too little. My mantra is that it is ultimately about making good choices and not following the letter of the law. Also, I skipped lunch yesterday, haha.

    Also, I think the video is easier than the substitute. I don’t think there are any pushups in it (those are my downfall – I have a wrist that screams at me, I don’t know if it’s carpal tunnel or what). So things will get better when the video arrives!

    • My video arrived today!! Today is my day off but I’ll be trying it out on Wednesday. Looking forward to it too! 🙂

  3. I changed the order of the workouts and I did the substitute workout also. I am in aaaggg-oh-knee. I made it though one full rep of the routine, and got through the second rep of squats and lunges before my knee insisted that I stop. I think I will be cutting down the reps but still trying to get the idea.
    Food, I did okay, but I agree with the too much food idea. Two eggs is WAY too much.
    So, You’re not alone in the not being quite as hard core as this plan, but together we can do this!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

